Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Attorney Call us today for a free consultation
Home Attorney Profile Case Results Criminal Defense Contact Us
Learn why it's important to hire an attorney who isn't afraid to take your case to trial Learn how important it is to hire the right attorney Learn what to do following an arrest
Information Center
DUI Center
Sexual Assault
Video CenterLegal Blog

Pittsburgh DUI Defense Lawyer

Driver License Penalties for DUI Charges

When it comes to being charged with DUI in Pennsylvania, among the first questions a defendant has is "Will I lose my driver's license?" That is a common consequence of conviction. But being charged is a long way from being convicted. Pittsburgh criminal defense attorney Blaine Jones understands the importance of fighting these charges. Keeping your driver's license is just one benefit. While having a DUI conviction on your record can impact your life for years to come. For those who refuse to submit to a breath test, a 12-month suspension will be automatically imposed. A defendant has 30 days to contest the suspension or it will be enforced, regardless of the outcome of the criminal case.

Pennsylvania DUI & Driver's License Suspensions

  • BAC Below .10: No suspension for first-time offenders if the driver meets certain criteria. Second or subsequent offense results in 12-month suspension.
  • BAC .10 to .16: 12-month suspension for first and second offense. 18-month suspension for third and subsequent offense.
  • BAC over .16: 12-month suspension first offense. 18-month suspension for two or more offenses.
  • Out-of-state Drivers: No suspension first offense. 12-month suspension for second or subsequent offense.

Occupational Limited Licenses (OLLs)

Those who have lost their license can generally obtain driving rights for work and other necessary travel. First-time offenders can apply for an Occupational Limited License after 60 days of suspension. Those who are serving an 18-month suspension must wait 12 months before applying for driving rights.

Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition Expungement

Those who qualify for and successfully complete the Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition can have their records expunged after 10 years, so long as their driver's license was not revoked as a habitual offender and the person was not a commercial driver at the time of the violation. As a veteran Pittsburgh drunk driving defense attorney, Blaine Jones, understands your driving rights are important. In many cases, those who can't drive, can't work. Not being permitted to legally drive can have a negative impact on you and your family. We will talk to you about your concerns and determine the best course of action for you and your case.

Blaine Jones Law, LLC - Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Attorney
Located at 600 Grant St #660 Pittsburgh, PA 15219. View Map
Phone: (412) 475-0062
Website: