Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Attorney Call us today for a free consultation
Home Attorney Profile Case Results Criminal Defense Contact Us
Learn why it's important to hire an attorney who isn't afraid to take your case to trial Learn how important it is to hire the right attorney Learn what to do following an arrest
Information Center
DUI Center
Sexual Assault
Video CenterLegal Blog

Pittsburgh DUI Defense Attorney

If you are convicted of DUI in Pittsburgh, there will be a number of penalties imposed. Most first-time DUI offenders who agree to have their breath tested at the time of arrest will not go to jail and will probably not have their driver's license suspended if their blood alcohol content was .99 percent or lower.

But keep in mind that imprisonment is possible. And there are all sorts of other legal and social consequences of having a DUI conviction on your record. Usually, though, first-timers who agree to breath testing will likely be put on probation for six months. You also will be fined $300 and ordered to attend a state-approved alcohol highway safety school. First-timers whose level was .10 percent or higher face jail time and driver's license suspension.

DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

The state's DUI laws are complex. Pittsburgh criminal defense lawyer, Blaine Jones, can investigate whether the BAC was accurate based on factors such as whether the machine was working properly and other circumstances. If you refused to take a BAC test, that is a separate offense that WILL result in the loss of your license for 12 months. However, the suspension can be appealed and you will also be denying the state a key piece of evidence to use against you in court. For those who refuse the test, you will have 30 days after being arrested to request an administrative hearing with the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles concerning your driving privileges.

If you do not request a hearing, your license will be suspended automatically. DUI penalties increase on second and third offenses, including the requirement of installing an ignition interlock system. There is much more to know about the DUI process in Pennsylvania, which is why you should strongly consider hiring a Pittsburgh DUI attorney who has proven experience with DUI laws.

For a first-time DUI, penalties include:

Blood Alcohol Concentration .08 percent to .099 percent

  • No jail time but six months' probation
  • Fine of $300
  • License not suspended
  • Alcohol highway safety education classes
  • Possible drug and alcohol assessment and treatment

Blood Alcohol Concentration .10 percent to .159 percent

  • Jail time of two days up to six months
  • Fine of $500 to $5,000
  • License suspended for 12 Months
  • Alcohol highway safety education classes
  • Possible drug and alcohol assessment and treatment

Blood Alcohol Concentration .16 percent and above:

  • Jail time of three days up to six months
  • Fine of $1,000 to $5,000
  • License suspended for 12 Months
  • Alcohol highway safety education classes
  • Drug and alcohol assessment and treatment
  • Limited Occupational License possible after 60 days
  • Ignition interlock device may be required

For a second-time DUI, penalties include:

Blood Alcohol Concentration .08 percent to .099 percent:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • 5 days to 6 months jail time
  • Up to $2,500 fine
  • Alcohol safety school and possible treatment
  • Ignition interlock device

Blood Alcohol Concentration .10 percent to .159 percent:

  • 12 months suspension
  • 30 days to six months jail
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • Alcohol safety school, possible treatment
  • 1 year ignition interlock device

Blood Alcohol Concentration .16 percent and above:

  • 18 months suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • Up to $10,000 fines
  • Alcohol safety school, possible treatment
  • Ignition interlock device

For two or more priors, penalties include:

Blood Alcohol Concentration .08 percent to .099 percent:

  • 12-month suspension
  • 10 days to 2 years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 fines
  • Possible treatment
  • Ignition Interlock

Blood Alcohol Concentration .10 percent to .159 percent:

  • 18-month suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • Up to $10,000 fines
  • Treatment when ordered
  • Ignition interlock

Blood Alcohol Concentration .16 percent and above:

  • 18-month suspension
  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Alcohol safety school
  • Possible treatment
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Blaine Jones Law, LLC - Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Attorney
Located at 600 Grant St #660 Pittsburgh, PA 15219. View Map
Phone: (412) 475-0062
Website: